This is the new home of the egghelp.org community forum.
All data has been migrated (including user logins/passwords) to a new phpBB version.


For more information, see this announcement post. Click the X in the top right-corner of this box to dismiss this message.

setting up a Trivbot

General support and discussion of Eggdrop bots.
Post Reply
K
KiNgThRaNdUiL
Voice
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 7:31 pm
Location: swansea

setting up a Trivbot

Post by KiNgThRaNdUiL »

Im trying to set up a trivia for my chatsite and i suppose to do that below but how do u do that under putty.exe after i renamed the new folder to Trivbot on winscp.

Code: Select all

!! Important BogusTrivia Shell Setup Notes !!
You may need to set the following File Permissions on your shell directories:
1. Log into your shell account.
2. You may need to chmod 711 on your home directory.
   This directory could be called home or your login name.
   Example:   chmod 711 home
3. You may need to chmod 700 on your eggdrop directory.
   This directory could be called eggdrop or whatever you named your bot folder.
   Example:   chmod 700 eggdrop
I really need help to set it up

kingthranduil
User avatar
SpiKe^^
Owner
Posts: 831
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 10:20 pm
Location: Tennessee, USA
Contact:

Post by SpiKe^^ »

Not sure I understand the question.
The examples of the chmod commands are already in the paragraph you just posted:)

Chances are you do not even have to change the permissions on your shell dirs. What makes you think you are having permission issues?
SpiKe^^

Get BogusTrivia 2.06.4.7 at www.mytclscripts.com
or visit the New Tcl Acrhive at www.tclarchive.org
.
K
KiNgThRaNdUiL
Voice
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 7:31 pm
Location: swansea

setting up a trivbot

Post by KiNgThRaNdUiL »

ircd@irc:~$ chmod 711 /home/
chmod: changing permissions of `/home/': Operation not permitted
ircd@irc:~$


That is what it is saying ^^^^
User avatar
SpiKe^^
Owner
Posts: 831
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 10:20 pm
Location: Tennessee, USA
Contact:

Post by SpiKe^^ »

Yes, looks like you aren't permitted to change the permissions on that directory.

What makes you so sure you need to?
Have you tried to run BogusTrivia with the permissions as they are now?
Chances are you Do Not have to change the permissions on your shell dirs.
SpiKe^^

Get BogusTrivia 2.06.4.7 at www.mytclscripts.com
or visit the New Tcl Acrhive at www.tclarchive.org
.
K
KiNgThRaNdUiL
Voice
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 7:31 pm
Location: swansea

setting up a Trivbot

Post by KiNgThRaNdUiL »

have i done this right or wrong???

New Installation of BogusTrivia:

1. Add this line to your bot's conf file: source scripts/t-2.tcl
2. Unzip the contents of the BogusTrivia zip file to your computer.
3. Open the t-2.settings.tcl and set your channel & game options.
4. Upload the following files to your bot's /scripts directory:

t-2.tcl :Main BogusTrivia tcl game script
t-2.commands.tcl :Extended BogusTrivia commands tcl
t-2.settings.tcl :BogusTrivia Settings tcl (Set All Game Options Here!)
bogus.ques.sample :Sample questions file (or some other question files)



##### SCRIPTS #####

# This is a good place to load scripts to use with your bot.

# This line loads script.tcl from the scripts directory inside your Eggdrop's
# directory. All scripts should be put there, although you can place them where
# you like as long as you can supply a fully qualified path to them.
#
# source scripts/script.tcl

source scripts/alltools.tcl
source scripts/action.fix.tcl
#source scripts/t-2.tcl
User avatar
SpiKe^^
Owner
Posts: 831
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 10:20 pm
Location: Tennessee, USA
Contact:

Post by SpiKe^^ »

Why have you remmed out the source line to load the BogusTrivia script?
That will keep the script from even trying to load:)

Use this instead...

Code: Select all

source scripts/t-2.tcl
SpiKe^^

Get BogusTrivia 2.06.4.7 at www.mytclscripts.com
or visit the New Tcl Acrhive at www.tclarchive.org
.
K
KiNgThRaNdUiL
Voice
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 7:31 pm
Location: swansea

setting up a trivbot

Post by KiNgThRaNdUiL »

you mean like that below:-

# source scripts/script.tcl

source scripts/alltools.tcl
source scripts/action.fix.tcl
source scripts/t-2.tcl

also i rehashed the config file


[02:02] -irc.GBChatterbox.co.uk- *** Notice -- KiNgThRaNdUiL is rehashing server config file
-
[02:02] unrealircd.conf Rehashing
-
[02:02] -irc.GBChatterbox.co.uk- *** Notice -- Loading IRCd configuration ..
-
[02:02] -irc.GBChatterbox.co.uk- *** Notice -- Configuration loaded without any problems ..
-

then i tried /os svsjoin trivbot #Trivia and it gives me this bit

[02:35] -OperServ- Nick trivbot isn't currently in use.
User avatar
SpiKe^^
Owner
Posts: 831
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 10:20 pm
Location: Tennessee, USA
Contact:

Post by SpiKe^^ »

you mean like that below:-

# source scripts/script.tcl

source scripts/alltools.tcl
source scripts/action.fix.tcl
source scripts/t-2.tcl
Yes, exactly:)

also i rehashed the config file


[02:02] -irc.GBChatterbox.co.uk- *** Notice -- KiNgThRaNdUiL is rehashing server config file
-
[02:02] unrealircd.conf Rehashing
-
[02:02] -irc.GBChatterbox.co.uk- *** Notice -- Loading IRCd configuration ..
-
[02:02] -irc.GBChatterbox.co.uk- *** Notice -- Configuration loaded without any problems ..
-
Nice, but that has nothing to do with getting the trivia to run.

then i tried /os svsjoin trivbot #Trivia and it gives me this bit

[02:35] -OperServ- Nick trivbot isn't currently in use.
I have no idea what /os svsjoin command is.


Why have you not just followed the install instructions included with the script and then joined the bot to your network?
SpiKe^^

Get BogusTrivia 2.06.4.7 at www.mytclscripts.com
or visit the New Tcl Acrhive at www.tclarchive.org
.
K
KiNgThRaNdUiL
Voice
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 7:31 pm
Location: swansea

setting up a trivbot

Post by KiNgThRaNdUiL »

i did follow the instructions to install it but for some reason it isnt getting my trivbot in my channel because it is saying trivbot isnt in use.also it is my 1st time trying to do it and this is the second week ive been trying to do it.


1. I made a NEW FOLDER and called it Trivbot

2. how do you put the eggdrop in that Trivbot folder ?

3. I Put I put the Trivia name under t-2.settings.tcl

4. copied everything from my radio files to the Trivbot folder and renamed them.

Maybe the folder is wrong..not so sure


if u wanna help me add me to skype called Johnny_Rambo2 coz i dont exactly give my teamviewer details out on a forum page that everybody can see it.
User avatar
SpiKe^^
Owner
Posts: 831
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 10:20 pm
Location: Tennessee, USA
Contact:

Post by SpiKe^^ »

Looks like you need Eggdrop help past what I am able to give.

I was thinking you just needed help getting BogusTrivia to work on a functioning Eggdrop bot.

Maybe someone else can help you get your Eggdrop working and joined to your network and channel.
You may also want to try joining #eggdrop and #egghelp on freenode for help getting an Eggdrop bot running correctly.

When you get your Eggdrop working, I would be glad to help get the trivia working on it.

Goodluck:)
SpiKe^^

Get BogusTrivia 2.06.4.7 at www.mytclscripts.com
or visit the New Tcl Acrhive at www.tclarchive.org
.
K
KiNgThRaNdUiL
Voice
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Mar 16, 2015 7:31 pm
Location: swansea

setting up the trivbot

Post by KiNgThRaNdUiL »

the eggdrop folder is on my winscp,just need to transfer it over into the trivbot folder
User avatar
SpiKe^^
Owner
Posts: 831
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 10:20 pm
Location: Tennessee, USA
Contact:

Post by SpiKe^^ »

http://mytclscripts.com/pcmirc/eggdrop-install.html

Or: You may want to try joining #eggdrop and #egghelp on freenode for help getting an Eggdrop bot installed & running correctly.
SpiKe^^

Get BogusTrivia 2.06.4.7 at www.mytclscripts.com
or visit the New Tcl Acrhive at www.tclarchive.org
.
User avatar
Get_A_Fix
Master
Posts: 206
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 6:11 pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: setting up a trivbot

Post by Get_A_Fix »

KiNgThRaNdUiL wrote: also i rehashed the config file


[02:02] -irc.GBChatterbox.co.uk- *** Notice -- KiNgThRaNdUiL is rehashing server config file
-
[02:02] unrealircd.conf Rehashing
-
[02:02] -irc.GBChatterbox.co.uk- *** Notice -- Loading IRCd configuration ..
-
[02:02] -irc.GBChatterbox.co.uk- *** Notice -- Configuration loaded without any problems ..
-
There is a BIG difference between an IRCd and an eggdrop. What you've done above is rehash the IRCd server, not the eggdrop.

Please take the advise of SpiKe^^ and read about how to set up the eggdrop bot, while also possibly connecting to the FreeNODE network and joining the channel's posted, so that you can discuss this with SpiKe^^ directly, or any one of the Helpers available.
We explore.. and you call us criminals. We seek after knowledge.. and you call us criminals. We exist without skin color, without nationality, without religious bias.. and you call us criminals.
Post Reply