This is the new home of the egghelp.org community forum.
All data has been migrated (including user logins/passwords) to a new phpBB version.


For more information, see this announcement post. Click the X in the top right-corner of this box to dismiss this message.

Using Bind msg and Bind Pub for one Proc

Help for those learning Tcl or writing their own scripts.
Post Reply
User avatar
ComputerTech
Master
Posts: 399
Joined: Sat Feb 22, 2020 10:29 am
Contact:

Using Bind msg and Bind Pub for one Proc

Post by ComputerTech »

Is it possible to let Bind Msg and Bind Pub use the same proc?

Like

Code: Select all

bind pub - !blah blah:blah

bind msg - blah blah:blah

proc blah:blah {nick host hand chan text} { 
putserv "PRIVMSG $chan :blah"
}
but somehow remove the variable "text" in the proc when using bind msg?

Thanks in advanced :D
ComputerTech
User avatar
CrazyCat
Revered One
Posts: 1217
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by CrazyCat »

No, you can't. In msg, you don't have the channel.
You can just do the following to "translate" pub to msg:

Code: Select all

bind pub - !blah pub:blah
bind msg - !blah blah

proc pub:blah {nick uhost handle chan text} {
   blah $nick $uhost $handle $text
}

proc blah {nick uhost handle text} {
   putserv "PRIVMSG $nick :hello"
}
Or you can do the other way, but you'll have to force msg to be something like "!blah #chan hello pple":

Code: Select all

bind pub - !blah blah
bind msg - !blah msg:blah

proc blah {nick uhost handle chan text} {
   putserv "PRIVMSG $chan :$text"
}

proc msg:blah {nick uhost handle text} {
   set chan [join [lindex [split $text] 0]]
   # check that $chan is really a channel or exit
   set msg [join [lrange [split $text] 1 end]]
   blah $nick $uhost $handle $chan $msg
}
w
willyw
Revered One
Posts: 1196
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 12:55 am

Re: Using Bind msg and Bind Pub for one Proc

Post by willyw »

ComputerTech wrote: ...
but somehow remove the variable "text" in the proc when using bind msg?

When calling the proc with a bind msg, how is it going to know what channel to post in? Is it fixed?.... just one channel?... and thus you can hard code it?

In other words: Need more info.
For a fun (and popular) Trivia game, visit us at: irc.librairc.net #science-fiction . Over 300K Q & A to play in BogusTrivia !
Post Reply