This is the new home of the egghelp.org community forum.
All data has been migrated (including user logins/passwords) to a new phpBB version.


For more information, see this announcement post. Click the X in the top right-corner of this box to dismiss this message.

how to set eggdrop bot's user mode? (+i)

General support and discussion of Eggdrop bots.
Post Reply
f
fusionx
Voice
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2022 1:35 pm

how to set eggdrop bot's user mode? (+i)

Post by fusionx »

Seems like this should be very easy. How do you set the bot's own user mode?

I'd like to set my bots +i (undernet), and can't seem to find any reference to it.
s
simo
Revered One
Posts: 1078
Joined: Sun Mar 22, 2015 2:41 pm

Post by simo »

check this section:



https://github.com/eggheads/eggdrop/blo ... conf#L1069


https://github.com/eggheads/eggdrop/blo ... 1062-L1071


would look something like this :

bind evnt - init-server evnt:init_server

proc evnt:init_server {type} {
global botnick
putquick "MODE $botnick +i"
# putserv "PRIVMSG x@channels.undernet.org :login user password"
}
Last edited by simo on Mon Mar 20, 2023 3:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
f
fusionx
Voice
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2022 1:35 pm

Post by fusionx »

simo wrote:check this section:
Thanks so much! I'm happy to see I was right - it was simple (lol).

I didn't realize +i is set by default. I should have tested that before starting down this path.

I googled my butt off and that never came up. My google-fu is lacking.
w
willyw
Revered One
Posts: 1197
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 12:55 am

Post by willyw »

fusionx wrote: ...
I didn't realize +i is set by default.

...
When I wonder what the irc network is setting by default, here's how I check it:

In partyline, do: .console +r
For this to work, you must first have enabled it, in eggdrop.conf, for use by you (owner).
You can check to see if that turned raw logging on, with:
.console
and then see the list returned. See if raw is in it.

Now, in partyline with +r console mode on, you will see everything. It's messy, but great for when you actually need it.

Now do: .dump mode <botnick>

The irc server will return the modes that are currently set on the bot.
Same as if you did: /mode <your_nick> on yourself, with your client.

You can do .console -r to stop the raw display of everything coming in.

I hope this helps - someday.
:)
For a fun (and popular) Trivia game, visit us at: irc.librairc.net #science-fiction . Over 300K Q & A to play in BogusTrivia !
f
fusionx
Voice
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 16, 2022 1:35 pm

Post by fusionx »

Willyw - this is very helpful - thank you!
willyw wrote: When I wonder what the irc network is setting by default, here's how I check it:

In partyline, do: .console +r
w
willyw
Revered One
Posts: 1197
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 12:55 am

Post by willyw »

You are most welcome. :)

And - I forgot to say: It's very helpful, when the day comes that you are messing with a script that uses a bind raw , and you need to determine the raw numeric to look for.

Have fun!
:)
For a fun (and popular) Trivia game, visit us at: irc.librairc.net #science-fiction . Over 300K Q & A to play in BogusTrivia !
Post Reply