This is the new home of the egghelp.org community forum.
All data has been migrated (including user logins/passwords) to a new phpBB version.


For more information, see this announcement post. Click the X in the top right-corner of this box to dismiss this message.

newbie basic help script

Old posts that have not been replied to for several years.
Locked
J
Joel
Voice
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 7:26 am

newbie basic help script

Post by Joel »

Code: Select all

bind pub !help bot_help

proc bot_help {nick uhost hand chan rest} {
       putchan $chan "Google Commands: !google !image !groups !local /n
			BoFH Commands: !bofh !selbofh /n
			Bash.org: !bash /n
			Others: !seen"			
    return
}
I think I'm doing something wrong with the command !help?

Anyone give me a quick pointer?

Joel
User avatar
demond
Revered One
Posts: 3073
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:58 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Post by demond »

your [bind] command has invalid format, it lacks flags parameter

use separate [putchan] command for each line to output
J
Joel
Voice
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 7:26 am

Post by Joel »

Your a star, thanks :D

Is there any way to get it to just output everything in one chunk of text, rather than on separtate lines?

Joel
User avatar
demond
Revered One
Posts: 3073
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:58 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Post by demond »

certainly there is, simply don't include newline character(s)
User avatar
De Kus
Revered One
Posts: 1361
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2002 11:41 am
Location: Germany

Post by De Kus »

IRC protocol is single line, meaning if the bot really sends it out it will get the error that there are no commands called "BoFH", "Bash.org:" and "Others:" ^-^. There is no known for me to force a client to do a linebreak without really printing a new line.
De Kus
StarZ|De_Kus, De_Kus or DeKus on IRC
Copyright © 2005-2009 by De Kus - published under The MIT License
Love hurts, love strengthens...
User avatar
demond
Revered One
Posts: 3073
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:58 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Post by demond »

not only IRC, you cannot force linebreak anywhere without using new line character ;)
User avatar
De Kus
Revered One
Posts: 1361
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2002 11:41 am
Location: Germany

Post by De Kus »

demond wrote:not only IRC, you cannot force linebreak anywhere without using new line character ;)
thats wrong, in a telnet connection you can use linebreak (or beter move the cursor down and backwards, but thats the same as linebreak in the end anyway, at least in windows) with ANSI codes, but mIRC ignores ANSI codes altering the cursor (I confirmed that after posting my previous post).

Code: Select all

[17:49:59] tcl: evaluate (.tcl): putdcc 11 "two \033\E\033\[40Dlines"
two
lines
test it yourself :)
Last edited by De Kus on Thu Sep 08, 2005 12:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
De Kus
StarZ|De_Kus, De_Kus or DeKus on IRC
Copyright © 2005-2009 by De Kus - published under The MIT License
Love hurts, love strengthens...
User avatar
demond
Revered One
Posts: 3073
Joined: Sat Jun 12, 2004 9:58 am
Location: San Francisco, CA
Contact:

Post by demond »

linebreak == newline == LF == \n
User avatar
Alchera
Revered One
Posts: 3344
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 12:42 pm
Location: Ballarat Victoria, Australia
Contact:

Post by Alchera »

demond wrote:linebreak == newline == LF == \n
I thought that was rather obvious to anyone. :lol:
Add [SOLVED] to the thread title if your issue has been.
Search | FAQ | RTM
Locked