This is the new home of the egghelp.org community forum.
All data has been migrated (including user logins/passwords) to a new phpBB version.


For more information, see this announcement post. Click the X in the top right-corner of this box to dismiss this message.

Eggdrop RSS Syndication (rss-synd) v0.5b1

Support & discussion of released scripts, and announcements of new releases.
Post Reply
t
testebr
Halfop
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 12:22 pm

Post by testebr »

scotteh wrote:@testebr

Somewhere in your config you're missing a }
Sorry, but this error occur only if in url exist the char "?".

Try this RSS http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/external.php?type=RSS2 and you will see the error.

Thanks.
s
scotteh
Halfop
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 12:43 am

Post by scotteh »

Code: Select all

	set rss(name) {
		"url"			"http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/external.php?type=RSS2"
		"channels"		"#channel"
		"database"		"./scripts/feeds/name.db"
		"output"		"\00300,14\[\00308\002!\002\00300\] \00300\002\00308NAME\00300\002 \[\00308\002!\002\00300\] @@item!title@@ \[\00308\002!\002\00300\] @@item!link@@ \[\00308\002!\002\00300\]\003" 
		"trigger"		"!@@feedid@@"
	}
This works perfectly fine, the error you posted and your explanation don't match up. Double check your settings for misplaced or unclosed braces.
T
Tigah
Voice
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 2:10 pm

Post by Tigah »

i'm using this script in combination with a request script, so users can request the bot to their channel.

but i want the trigger to be active in all the channels, and updates posted in all channels, maybe it would be possible to add something like that?
S
Sairus88
Voice
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 5:15 pm

Post by Sairus88 »

Hi can you help me pls, if i using czech rss feeds like this http://novinky.cz/rss2/

Czech letters like ěščřžýáíéúů etc. are heartlessness and i need some script to convert this letter ěščřžýáíé... to escrzyaie... Can you help me? (sorry for my english)
d
dc2447
Voice
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 12:39 pm

Post by dc2447 »

testebr wrote:how to use autenticated rss feed?

did you work this out?
S
SoKoOLz
Voice
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2008 12:12 am

Post by SoKoOLz »

Hi All,

I'm trying to get this script running on Windows.
I'm using Windrop and it seems to loaded and should be running.

However, when I trgger something like, !rss 0, it doesn't output anything.
I'm using the latest script version rss-synd-0.5b1

Please help.

Thanks

#EDIT
I got it to work now, it seems there is something wrong with the directory format .scripts/feeds << doesn't work so I've changed to script/feeds instead.

Now everything works fine, BTW: I got one feed that requires Base64 functions in packages. But I don't have it in Windrop. How do I add it to my package?

THanks
R
Rocky
Voice
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 6:03 am

Post by Rocky »

Hi all,

First, thanks for the script.

Second, I need some help getting a wiki feed up and running.

I've tried various things like setting the charset etc, to no avail. Theres no error messages or anything, it just doesn't seem to get the feed at all.

I've tried using both the rss feed (below) and the atom feed (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?tit ... &feed=atom)

Code: Select all

	set rss(wikipedia) {
		"url"			"http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Special:Recentchanges&feed=rss"
		"database"		"scripts/wikipedia.db"
		"trigger"		"!wiki"
		"output"		"[\002@@title@@\002] @@entry!title@@ - @@entry!link!=href@@"
		"update-interval"	5
		"charset"		"utf-8"
	}
Thanks in advance.
s
scotteh
Halfop
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 12:43 am

Post by scotteh »

@Tigah

I will add support for that.

@Sairus88

Try removing the "charset" option for that feed and check the README file, this issue was mentioned there.

@SoKoOLz

You need to install tcllib http://tcllib.sourceforge.net/

@Rocky

Ill look into it, but using an rss feed when the only cookies in your output are for Atom's wont work.
c
c0nv1ct
Voice
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 2:34 pm

Post by c0nv1ct »

First of all, thank you scotteh for your script, far superior to any i've tried, good work.

After using this script for some time, I've ran into a problem with a couple feeds my project leader wants me to add. I have yet to understand why, but the script seems unable to determine that the entries from these feeds are not new, it announces the same entries over and over as if they were new. I have 7 other feeds in the script that work without issue, its just these 2 feeds from the same site that are pissing me off.

Here are the 2 feeds that are causing this:

http://svn.sabayonlinux.org/entropy/sta ... pdates.rss
http://svn.sabayonlinux.org/entropy/sta ... pdates.rss

Is there anything i can do either server-side or in the script to solve this?

Hopefully you are able to reproduce my issue, if not you can see it in effect in #sabayon-dev on freenode.

(i've tried both 0.4 and 0.5b1 versions, same results)

UPDATE:

Solved, thanks for the help on irc scotteh. My project leader is happy now :)
a
anotheregglover
Voice
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by anotheregglover »

If anybody gets something like '??? ? ?????' instead of russian characters when using cp1251 rss, try to replace

Code: Select all

		set data [encoding convertto [string tolower $feed(charset)] $data]
(line 433) with

Code: Select all

		set data [encoding convertfrom [string tolower $feed(charset)] $data]

P.S. But I have problems with multiple RSS: there are 2 forums, one with utf-8 output (IPB) and one with cp1251 (SMF) and bot only announces the second one to the channel. The only difference in configuration of feeds in the script is "encoding" "cp1251" for SMF forum and nothing for IPB. So I assumed that was the reason and added "encoding" "utf-8" in configuration set of IPB forum, but got 'RSS Error: Unable to parse feed properly, parser returned error. "http://172.16.3.132/forum/?act=rssout&id=1"'. here is part of my config:

Code: Select all

	set rss(форум) {
		"url"			"http://172.16.3.132/forum/?act=rssout&id=1"
		"database"		"./scripts/feeds/forum.db"
		"output"		"3@@item!poster@@@@entry!poster@@ оставил новое сообщение в теме \"3@@item!title@@@@entry!title@@\". Подробнее: 3@@item!link@@@@entry!link!=href@@&view=getlastpost"
		"trigger"		"!@@feedid@@"
	}

	set rss(snmg) {
		"url"			"http://snmg.iwan.ru/?type=rss;action=.xml"
		"charset"		"cp1251"
		"database"		"./scripts/feeds/snmg.db"
		"output"		"Кто-то написал сообщение с темой \"3@@item!title@@@@entry!title@@\". Подробнее: 3@@item!link@@@@entry!link!=href@@"
		"trigger"		"!@@feedid@@"
	}
...
	set default {
		"announce-output"	3
		"trigger-output"	3
		"remove-empty"		1
		"trigger-type"		0:2
		"announce-type"		0
		"max-depth"			5
		"evaluate-tcl"		0
		"update-interval"	1
		"output-order"		0
		"timeout"			60000
		"channels"			"#main"
		"trigger"			"!rss @@feedid@@"
		"output"			"\[\002@@channel!title@@@@title@@\002\] @@item!title@@@@entry!title@@ - @@item!link@@@@entry!link!=href@@"
		"user-agent"		"Eggdrop RSS Syndication"
	}
and a little trick described in the beginning of the post. How can I make my bot to announce multiple RSS on the channel?
R
Rocky
Voice
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 6:03 am

Post by Rocky »

scotteh wrote:@Rocky

Ill look into it, but using an rss feed when the only cookies in your output are for Atom's wont work.
I worked out the issue, the following regex was incorrectly splitting the url at the colon in the address, substituting this character for it's html equivalent was all that was needed.

Code: Select all

regexp -nocase -inline -- {(http(?:s?))://(?:(.[^:]+:.[^@]+)?)(?:@?)(.*)} $tmp(url)
s
scotteh
Halfop
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 12:43 am

Post by scotteh »

Rocky wrote:
scotteh wrote:@Rocky

Ill look into it, but using an rss feed when the only cookies in your output are for Atom's wont work.
I worked out the issue, the following regex was incorrectly splitting the url at the colon in the address, substituting this character for it's html equivalent was all that was needed.

Code: Select all

regexp -nocase -inline -- {(http(?:s?))://(?:(.[^:]+:.[^@]+)?)(?:@?)(.*)} $tmp(url)
Fixed, thanks :)
s
scotteh
Halfop
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 12:43 am

Post by scotteh »

@anotheregglover

Both the forums you mentioned don't seem to be responding for me at the moment so I'm unable to look at the exact problem.

The error you mentioned is when the parser either hits badly formed xml or it has a bug, most likely its the first. Ill check the websites again later.

Edit: The error is probably caused by a bad encoding convert which is converting characters into what the parser thinks are xml tags (ie. random < & > all over the place).

This problem is due to the line you changed before, but I'm not sure if it would of worked with the original had you changed some settings. I'm still working on encoding and any help / testers would be appreciated.
a
anotheregglover
Voice
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by anotheregglover »

yeah, they are local. but u can look at any IPB or SMF forum — rss output is the same (but encoding is set by administrator, so cp1251 is used only on russian SMF- or IPB-powered boards, and UTF8 for IPB is not default)
R
Rocky
Voice
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2008 6:03 am

Post by Rocky »

Hi, I have another few questions related to this script.

I have a feed which requires me to log in to access it and as such i require the ability to include cookie session data.

Is this currently supported?
If so, how do i define the cookie data?
If not, any chance that this feature will be implemented?

Thanks.
Post Reply