This is the new home of the egghelp.org community forum.
All data has been migrated (including user logins/passwords) to a new phpBB version.


For more information, see this announcement post. Click the X in the top right-corner of this box to dismiss this message.

Eggdrop RSS Syndication (rss-synd) v0.5b1

Support & discussion of released scripts, and announcements of new releases.
Post Reply
s
scotteh
Halfop
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 12:43 am

Post by scotteh »

@Giel

I replied to your private message

@zSolo
zSolo wrote:When i put like 5 min per update it takes like a hour to annouce the new news
It will check 3 feeds a minute maximum, so if you put lots of feeds in there it might lag. Its possible to increase this limit if you like.

Search for this line and increase the 3 to whatever value you wish.

Code: Select all

if {$i == 3} { break }
@chaky & @kompas

Your feeds should now work in v0.4 which ill upload soon.

@demond

Giel was having problems with a modified proc to shorten the URL's the script outputs. rss-synd also supports the Location header.
z
zSolo
Voice
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 7:43 pm

Post by zSolo »

Im only having it to check 1 feed

Code: Select all

"update-interval"	10


Thats the update setting.. So it checks evey min or 10mins?
s
scotteh
Halfop
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 12:43 am

Post by scotteh »

zSolo wrote:Thats the update setting.. So it checks evey min or 10mins?
The feed is checked every 10 mins, but the script itself checks every 1 min to see if any feeds need updating.

If you only have one feed you shouldn't need to change the value i mentioned before.

Its possible that the website is banning you for an hour if you check to often, 5 mins between updates is pretty low.
z
zSolo
Voice
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Feb 02, 2007 7:43 pm

Post by zSolo »

Ok, so let me get this stright, Basicly its checking every min and if there is a new news say at 5:00 then it will check it at 5:01 and post in teh channel?
User avatar
Giel
Voice
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 5:19 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Giel »

I am still trying to get URL redirection to work, but its still not working. All i get is the error message that the connection timed out.
This is the proc I put in the script:

proc ::gourl {url} {
set post_data [::http::formatQuery "url" $url "submit" "Create Your GoURL"]

# since this connection is synchronous and blocks, the timeout should be relatively small.
set token [::http::geturl "http://gourl.biz/create.php" -query $post_data -timeout 5000]

set data [::http::data $token]

regexp -nocase -- {<input type="text" name="url" size="45" value="(.[^"]+)">} $data -> url

return $url

}

Can someone tell me if this is correct and/or I have to edit this proc or other lines and where to put this in the script.
I am a newbie in eggdrop/tcl scripting, so all usefull help is welcome
U
Umana
Voice
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:48 pm

Post by Umana »

Tails wrote:there are some feeds like this one: http://milw0rm.com/rss.php
I found a similar feed I can't get to work.. Theres 3 feeds listed @ http://space.newscientist.com/feeds.ns - ATOM, RSS2 and RRS1 and they all have the same problem.

Check http://www.pheedo.com/f/newscientist_space/atom10 for an example.
d
drmessano
Voice
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2007 3:56 pm

Don't announce if text = blah

Post by drmessano »

I'm learning as I go here, and trying to figure out how to keep a feed from announcing if it contains a certain text string.

I am using the RSS feeds from the National Weather Service to announce weather info into a channel. When there is no activiity, the feed defaults to "There are no watches or warnings blah blah blah". It is updated every often, and so my channel is flooded with useless messages.

I would like to filter out these from being announced, but not remove them from the database. This gives me the ability to trigger them in channel and see there are no watches, warnings, etc, but doesn't feed them to channel every time they are updated.

I am looking in the feed_compare area, and I am not sure exactly how to contribute to the weighting to drop it below what's needed to be seen as an updated article. This may not even be the easiest or best place to do it, but it sorta made sense.

Any thoughts?
C
Cletus
Voice
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Aug 06, 2006 6:01 pm

Post by Cletus »

I, too would like the ability to filter certain results from showing in channel.

Filtering by keywords or text strings would be awesome.

Is it possible?
c
croxis
Voice
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 1:45 pm

Post by croxis »

Hi, thanks for the script but I am running into an error when I launch eggdrop
[10:41] invalid command name "tag_start"
while executing
"tag_start"
(file "scripts/rss-synd.tcl" line 730)
invoked from within
"source scripts/rss-synd.tcl"
(file "Eye.conf" line 1363)
[10:41] * CONFIG FILE NOT LOADED (NOT FOUND, OR ERROR)
Thank you for your help!
r
rix
Halfop
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 1:04 pm
Location: Estonia

Post by rix »

How do i disable automatic update to channel? Should i set "update-interval" to zero or just to some huge number?
F
Freeze
Voice
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed May 18, 2005 4:04 am
Location: Germany/Bavaria

Post by Freeze »

Hi,
I've got a charset problem with version 0.4.

The RSS-Feed http://www.heise.de/newsticker/heise-atom.xml is encoded in UTF-8, but setting "charset" to "utf-8" doesn't effect the right output.
Umlauts like ä, ö, ü are posted like ä, ö ,ü.

The part in the config:

Code: Select all

	set rss(heise) {
		"url"			"http://www.heise.de/newsticker/heise-atom.xml"
		"channels"		"#chat"
		"database"		"./scripts/news_heise.dat"
		"output"		"«\002«\002 News: www.Heise.de «\002•\002» @@entry!title@@ \002»\002»"
		"trigger"		"!heise"
		"output-order"	1
		"charset"		"utf-8"
	}
Whats the problem?
l
legend
Voice
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 2:59 pm

Post by legend »

great script btw, been searching a while for one I like.

Would it be possible to post news every "update-interval setting" - if theres no new news to post it cycles through the last "announce-output setting"

So if theres no news to post, it starts announcing the previous news posts.

Many thanks for work and time.
c
cytralskunk
Voice
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 4:23 pm

Duplicates

Post by cytralskunk »

Is there any way to prevent duplicate lines by using the title instead of the url? Thanks.

-cS
User avatar
MenzAgitat
Op
Posts: 118
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2006 12:35 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by MenzAgitat »

 
I've been using that script for a long time but it seems that since today, I have a problem when the bot tries to fetch the RSS from www.imaginascience.com

The bot uses 100% CPU and the memory is filling up until there are no more ressources left and the computer crashes.

I have tried many times to enable/disable this particular feed and I'm 99,9% sure that the problem comes from it.

Here is the content of the feed like it was when the problem appeared :

http://www.boulets-roxx.com/buffer/imaginascience.xml

I'm using windrop 1.6.18 handlen32 and RSS Syndication v0.4
 
 
s
scotteh
Halfop
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 12:43 am

Post by scotteh »

Sorry about the late replies..

@Umana

Ill check the feeds out.

@drmessano

Something like this is possible, please email me if you want some help setting it up.

@Cletus

Its possible to do currently, although it would be rather 'hackish'. I will consider adding it a config option.

@croxis

What version of rss-synd are you using?

@rix

set 'announce-output' to 0.

@Freeze

Ill look into it.

@legend

It would be possible with minor modifications, i'll consider adding it as a config option.

@cytralskunk

Ill fix this, its been bugging me as well.

@MenzAgitat

Hmm, seems like the parser is having issues with that xml feed. Ill check it out, thanks for saving the feed.
Post Reply